Time on Edgewhen is measured according to the motions of the three heavenly bodies.

The Sun and the Lith

The lith rises 9 times a day, splitting the day into 9 equal parts called “lithics”.

Neither hours nor minutes exist on Edgewhen, but the day is the same length as ours. So a lithic is 2 hours and 40 minutes. Each quarter-lithic is 40 minutes.

The lithic before dawn is usually called “the first lithic”. Noon coincides with the fourth rising of the lith.

In general, lithics 1, 2, and 3 are morning. Lithics 4 and 5 are afternoon. The sixth lithic is evening. And lithics 7, 8, and 9 are for sleeping.

The Moon

All months have 30 days.

The moon rises nine times for every ten risings of the sun. Or, to put it another way, it takes ten lithics for the moon to make a full circle. This means that every day, high tide and low tide occur one lithic later than the day before. The moon and the lith are synchronized so that the lith is at its lowest point (a quarter-lithic away from rising) when the moon is at its highest point.

The moon is silver at the beginning and end of each month. In between, it takes on one of the six colors (yellow, green, blue, purple, red, or orange). This color fades in and out gradually over the course of the month.


The sun appears to travel in a circle. At the vernal and autumnal equinoxes, the center of the circle is on the horizon, and so the sun spends half the day above the horizon and half below. Both equinoxes occur on the first day of Purplemonth.

After the autumnal equinox, the pivot point of the sun’s circle appears to sink farther below the horizon each day. The days grow shorter and shorter. After three months, the pivot is so far below the horizon that the sun is up for only three lithics, one-third of the day. The first day of Yellowmonth is the winter solstice. Most calendars begin the new year on this day.

As more months go by, the pivot of the sun’s orbit rises. It reaches the horizon again on the vernal equinox and continues to rise until the day is six lithics long. The first day of summer’s Yellowmonth is the summer solstice.

Temperate regions of Edgewhen recognize four seasons. Each season begins one month before an equinox or solstice.

Spring: Bluemonth, Purplemonth, Redmonth
Summer: Orangemonth, Yellowmonth, Greenmonth
Autumn: Bluemonth, Purplemonth, Redmonth
Winter: Orangemonth, Yellowmonth, Greenmonth


No one on Edgewhen has 7-day weeks. Most of the cultures that use a base-6 numbering system divide the month into five 6-day weeks. Those using the base-10 numbering system sometimes divide the month into 3 tendays. This is a more natural system on Edgewhen because the moon and tides are on a 10-day cycle.